Sunday, August 19, 2007

Collectibles #17: Smashing Pumpkins - Zeitgeist (2007)

Zeitgeist is the Smashing Pumpkins' 6th studio album, their first in 7 years, but with only 2 of the original lineup remaining - lead singer/songwriter Billy Corgan and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin.

After achieving mainstream success with their 2nd and 3rd albums (Siamese Dream & Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness respectively), Smashing Pumpkins' next two releases were perceived as duds, prompting them to break up.

After venturing out on their own solo careers (Billy Corgan and Chamberlin formed the band Zwan, Chamberlin also had a brief stint with Jimmy Chamberlin Complex), the 2 key personnel decided to reunite and revive the Smashing Pumpkins. Only without James Iha (guitar/vocals) and D'arcy Wretzky (bass/vocals) returning.

The result is Zeitgeist, and it debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200 album charts. Reviews have been mixed at best. The Pumpkins have started touring and maybe they will be able to gain some new fans after the tour.

This version here is the limited special edition which contains 76 colour pages. I haven't opened it yet so I don't know how it looks like on the inside.


Post a Comment

<< Home